KIRKLEES METROPOLITAN COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET, COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2006/07

	Page
Cabinet	2
Cabinet Committee - Decision Making Panel - Neighbourhood Renewal Fund	3
Council Business Committee	4
Area Committees Advisory Committee	5
Voluntary Sector Funding Advisory Committee	6
Licensing and Safety Committee	7
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	8
Personnel Committee	9
Planning and Highways Committee	10
Planning Sub-Committee (Heavy Woollen Area)	11
Planning Sub-Committee (Huddersfield Area)	12
Standards Committee	13
Appeals Panel	14
Overview & Scrutiny Panels	15
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Regeneration	15
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Corporate Affairs	15
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Adults and Older People	15
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Safer, Stronger Communities	15
Overview & Scrutiny Panel for Children and Young People	15
Area Committee - Batley	16
Area Committee - Birstall and Birkenshaw	17
Area Committee - Colne Valley	18
Area Committee - Denby Dale	19
Area Committee - Dewsbury	20
Area Committee - Holme Valley North	21
Area Committee - Holme Valley South	22
Area Committee - Huddersfield North	23
Area Committee - Huddersfield South	24
Area Committee - Kirkburton	25
Area Committee - Mirfield	26
Area Committee - Spen Valley	27
Business Managers Sub Committee	28
Audit Committee	29

2006/07

CABINET

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (9)

R Light * K Sims J Dodds M Bates M Bolt K Iqbal A Palfreeman D Hall M Hemingway

CABINET COMMITTEE - DECISION MAKING PANEL - NEIGHBOURHOOD RENEWAL FUND

Members 4

CONSERVATIVE (4)

K Sims K Iqbal * A Palfreeman M Hemingway

COUNCIL BUSINESS COMMITTEE

Members 14 (plus the Chair of Overview and Scrutiny) plus Mayor and Deputy (as observers)

CONSERVATIVE (4) LABOUR (4) LIB DEM (4) GREEN PARTY (1) BNP (1)

T Brice *	M Harkin	P Battye	G Simpson	D Exley
M Hemingway	M Khan	A Marchington		
R Light	S Pandor	K Pinnock		
K Sims	K Smith	J Smithson		

AREA COMMITTEES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Members 14 (12 drawn from Area Committee chairs + relevant Cabinet Member and relevant Overview and Scrutiny Member

CONSERVATIVE ()LABOUR ()LIB DEM (1)IND (1)L SmajeS PandorTo beT LyonsE WardP Kaneconfirmed

D Hillas *

P McBride

* Chair

K Sims

V Lees D Yates

M Hemingway

VOLUNTARY SECTOR FUNDING ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Members 7

CONSERVATIVE (3) LABOUR (2)

LIB DEM (2)

I Ameen R Rogers A Ellam A Sarwar To be notified

LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

Members 15

CONSERVATIVE (4)	LABOUR (4)	LIB DEM (4)	GREEN PARTY (1)	BNP (1)	IND (1)
T Brice A Murphy R Rogers D Yates	D Sheard * M Akhtar H Mayet M Ahmed	C Iredale C Stanfield A Woodhead L Wilkinson	G Simpson	D Exley	T Lyons

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Members 5

CONSERVATIVE (1) LABOUR (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN PARTY (1) BNP (1)

N Patrick	M Walton *	R Iredale	J Stewart Turner	R Roberts
IN I GUION		IT II Cuulo		

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (9)

R Light * K Sims J Dodds M Bates M Bolt K Iqbal A Palfreeman D Hall M Hemingway

PLANNING AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE

Members 17

CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (5)	GREEN PARTY (1)	BNP (1)
M Bolt V Lees A Murphy K Sims C Smith	M Akhtar J Calvert * M Sarwar P Kane K Smith	A Denham N Hussain A Pinnock N Turner A Woodhead	To be notified	D Exley

PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HEAVY WOOLLEN AREA)

Members 15

CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (4)	BNP (1)
K lqbal V Lees A Murphy * E Ward D Yates	P Kane + H Mayet D Sheard M Akhtar M Hussain	P Battye K Hussain A Raistrick A Pinnock	C Auty

* Chair + Deputy Chair

PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HUDDERSFIELD AREA)

Members 15

CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (4)	IND (1)
D Firth T Brice + N Patrick R Rogers K Sims	J Calvert * P McBride M Sarwar M Walton M Sokhal	C Iredale C Stanfield N Turner L Wilkinson	T Lyons

* Chair + Deputy Chair

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Members 4

CONSERVATIVE (1) LABOUR (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN PARTY (1)

K Taylor M Sokhal * C Stanfield J Stewart Turner

APPEALS PANEL

Members 15

CONSERVATIVE (4)	LABOUR (4)	LIB DEM (5)	GREEN PARTY (1)	BNP (1)
I Ameen T Brice K Taylor * V Lees	M Blanshard D Hillas G Grailey S Pandor	M Bower G Beever R Iredale A Raistrick A Woodhead	G Simpson	C Auty

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PANELS

Members 29

CONSERVATIVE(9) LABOUR(8) LIB DEM(9) GREEN PARTY(1) BNP(1) IND(1)

(i) **Regeneration (6)**

J Smithson M Hussain N Hussain P McBride * D Yates V Lees

(ii) Children and Young People (6)

M Fearnley M Blanshard * A Raistrick G Grailey I Ameen E Ward

(iii) Adults and Older People (6)

M Bower L Smaje M Walton

(iv) Safer, Stronger Communities (6)

A Denham A Ahmed * A Marchington M Sokhal R Rogers

(v) Corporate Affairs (6)

G Beever L Wilkinson N Patrick A Ellam *

* Indicates Lead Member (Chair)

NB: Nominees of Green Party, BNP and Independent Groups to be allocated to Panels

AREA COMMITTEE - BATLEY

Members 9

LABOUR (8) LIB DEM (1)

M Akhtar P Battye M Harkin H Mayet S Pandor * G Grailey

AREA COMMITTEE - BIRSTALL & BIRKENSHAW

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

R Light A Palfreeman L Smaje *

AREA COMMITTEE - COLNE VALLEY

Members 6

LIB DEM (6)

G Beever M Fearnley N Turner C Iredale R Iredale A Marchington

AREA COMMITTEE - DENBY DALE

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (2) LABOUR (1)

E Ward * M Blanshard J Dodds

AREA COMMITTEE - DEWSBURY

Members 9

LABOUR (3) LIB DEM (3) CONSERVATIVE (2) BNP (1) P Kane *

M Ahmed M Hussain D Hullock K Hussain N Hussain K Iqbal I Ameen

C Auty

AREA COMMITTEE - HOLME VALLEY NORTH

Members 3

LIB DEM (1) CONSERVATIVE (1)

INDEPENDENT (1)

M Bower R Rogers

T Lyons *

AREA COMMITTEE - HOLME VALLEY SOUTH

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

D Firth K Sims * N Patrick

AREA COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD NORTH

Members 9

K Smith

D Hillas *

J Calvert M Khan M Sokhal A Smith

LABOUR (6) CONSERVATIVE (1) LIB DEM (2)

T Brice

C Stanfield A Woodhead

AREA COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD SOUTH

Members 12

LIB DEM (4)	LABOUR (4)	GREEN (3)	NHS (1)
A Denham J Smithson L Wilkinson R Battye	M Walton M Sarwar P McBride * A Ellam	A Cooper G Simpson J Stewart Turner	J Grunsell

AREA COMMITTEE - KIRKBURTON

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

A Murphy M Hemingway * C Smith

AREA COMMITTEE - MIRFIELD

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

M Bolt K Taylor V Lees *

AREA COMMITTEE - SPEN VALLEY

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (3) LIB DEM (3) LABOUR (1) BNP (2)

M Bates D Yates * D Hall K Pinnock A Pinnock A Raistrick D Sheard

D Exley R Roberts

BUSINESS MANAGERS SUB COMMITTEE

Members 5

CONSERVATIVE (1) LABOUR (1) LIB DEM (1) GREEN PARTY (1) BNP (1)

M Hemingway *	M Harkin	P Battye	G Simpson	R Roberts
winemingway		I Dailye	0.0111p3011	IN NUDERIS

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Members 6

(Same membership as Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee)

CONSERVATIVE(1) LABOUR(1) LIB DEM(1) GREEN PARTY(1) BNP (1) IND(1)

N Patrick M Walton * R Iredale J Stewart Turner R Roberts T Lyons